Ebrary is a collection of thousands of online full text books and other materials in a variety of subject areas. The ebrary platform no longer requires a browser plugin software to access these titles. The ebrary QuickView Reader runs within your web browser and works with Windows, Mac OS, and Linux. QuickView allows instant viewing of documents in your browser. To print, copy, or use other advanced features, you can use the InfoTools menu from QuickView.
IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR VPN USERS: If you are using an IPhone or IPad to access ebrary books through the campus VPN - you should first configure your iPhone or iPad to access the UCSD VPN following the instructions given on BLINK.
iPad/iPhone/iTouch APP On January 20, 2012, Ebrary released and iPad/iPhone APP. It can be dowloaded from the App Store in ITunes. You can now login to the mobile app using your Facebook login. See Ebrary's web site for more details. Keep in mind that you will need to have established an Ebrary account and Adobe Digital Editions account before installing the APP.
Ebrary Readers: Two other readers are also available: 1) the Unity Reader (Windows, Linux; includes text-to-speech functionality). The Unity Reader works well with newer browser versions OR the 2) Ebrary Plugin Reader which offers more functionality and better results in printing. To install it click on the button to launch.
LOAN RULES: The user can read the ebook as long as he or she is logged on to the Ebrary site. Once the user logs out or closes the browser, it becomes available for another patron.
SIMULTANEOUS USERS: Ebrary allows only one user at a time to access the title, unless we have purchased multiple copies.
PRINTING Printing is limited to 40 continuous pages, or a total of 60 pages from a single book.
DOWNLOADING Ebrary offers two options for downloading titles. For the second, you must be able to install Adobe Digital Editions - which currently does not work with Kindle. For books where the Libraries has only one-user-at-a-time rights, you can only download one chapter at a time or up to 60 pages at one time. For books where the library owns multiple simultaneous user rights, you can download the entire book and it will remain on your device for up to 14 days, then disappear.
- Create an image PDF of a specific chapter or page range (can be used with both single user and multiple user titles)
Learn more: http://support.ebrary.com/?p=655
- Same page limits as for printing.
- Accessible on most computers and devices, including the Kindle.
- Additional (free) software is typically not needed.
- Files do not expire.
- Download an entire document as an e-book in Adobe Digital Editions (can be used only with titles for which we have multiple user rights)
Learn more: http://support.ebrary.com/?p=687
- Up to 10 documents at a time per patron.
- Patrons first need to install Adobe Digital Editions (free online).
- Accessible on most computers and devices, but not the Kindle.
- Check-out period for downloaded e-book: 7 days if ebrary site has single-user access to document, 14 days if multi-user access.
STEPS: From the quick view, click on the Download button. Downloads will appear on your desktop on in the Dowloaded files folder. It will work with most devices.
USER HELP The Patron Quick Guide gives an overview
Do I need special software or hardware to read ebrary books online?
ebrary requires you to use one of their ebrary Readers to view and interact with documents and for expanded functionality. The ebrary QuickView Reader runs within your web browser and works with Windows, Mac OS, and Linux. The ebrary Plug-in Reader runs inside your web browser and is available on Windows and Mac OS. You download and install the Plug-in Reader as a browser plug-in. The Plug-in Reader performs essentially the same tasks as the ebrary QuickView Reader. Both are available from the ebrary website. Ebrary now has an iPhone and iPad app. Visit the App Store to download it.
Can I download ebooks to my hand held device (such as iPhone, Kindle, Sony Reader, Nook, iPad, Kobo, Droid phones)?
See section above which describes what can be downloaded and to which devices.
Yes, within the copyright restrictions of the title, you can print chapters, sections or pages you wish to use for your research. You can also select text and copy it to another application. The paste operation adds a bibliographic citation of the source material with a link to the page in the document where the information was obtained. Publishers and copyright owners determine how much of any particular document can be copied or printed.
EBL (Electronic Book Library) is a platform hosting over 100,000 titles from hundreds of academic publishers. UCSD Libraries provides a "Patron Driven Ebook Acquisitions" program for many of those titles. You will discover those titles when searching Roger and the titles will be identified by the wording "EBL. Restricted to UCSD IP addresses. Access using UCSD email login" in the link. These books are only available to UCSD students, faculty, and staff.
You must have installed Adobe Reader free of charge to download) in order to view these books.
Once you click on the link, you will be taken to the UCSD Single Sign On Screen:
LOAN RULES: Access is limited to currently enrolled UCSD students, faculty and staff only. You will be required to supply youir AD or ACMS login in order to view the books. After logging in you will be taken to a brief view of the title where you will see a description of the book and can view the table of contents. Once in the table of contents, you can click to view the contents of the book. After 10 minutes, you will be asked if you want to check out the book for 24 hours. The library pays a short term rental fee to allow you to check out the book. You should only choose this option if you really want to use the content for the next 24 hours. You can access that content from any computer connected to the Internet. Once you login, EBL remembers your loan. At the end of 24 hours you will be asked whether you wish to renew. If not, the content will no longer be available to you after 24 hours. Once a book has been checked out repeatedly, it will be considered for purchase to become a permanent part of the Libraries' collections. Not all of these books are eventually purchased. In some cases, a librarian may contact you with alternatives to using this ebook.
SIMULTANEOUS USERS: EBL allows multiple user to access a single ebook at one time.
DOWNLOADING Currently, users can download books to hand-held devices (i.e. as a pdf). Whenever the DOWNLOAD button appears in a book you are reading, you can download the book for 24 hours. After 24 hours of use you will be prompted to download the book again.
Downloading an EBL book enables you to access the book offline and transfer it to a device that supports Adobe Digital Editions—see: Adobe Digital Editions list of compatible devices: http://blogs.adobe.com/digitalpublishing/supported-devices. Apple devices (IPAD, IPhone etc.) normally require the BlueFire Reader to work with Adobe Digital. One library prepared a YouTube video to demonstrate how this works.
PRINTING EBL allows users only to print 20% of a book's content (does not have to be consecutive pages). Only 5% of the book can be copied and pasted.
USER HELP The EBL User Guide provides detailed instructions for using EBL.
Do I need special software or hardware to read ebooks online?
EBL can be accessed using a standard Internet browser. The Safari browser is recommended for Mac users. EBL provides ebooks in Adobe PDF format, so in order to view EBL ebooks online, you will need the correct version of Adobe Reader installed on your computer. EBL works best with Acrobat Reader version 9 or later. If you download Adobe Reader 8, you will also need to download Adobe Digital Edition - Flash Player.
Yes, whenever the DOWNLOAD button appears in a book you are reading, you can download the book for 24 hours. After 24 hours of use you will be prompted to download the book again.
Downloading an EBL book enables you to access the book offline and transfer it to a device that supports Adobe Digital Editions—see: Adobe Digital Editions list of compatible devices: http://blogs.adobe.com/digitalpublishing/supported-devices. Apple devices (IPAD, IPhone etc.) normally require the BlueFire Reader to work with Adobe Digital.
At this time Kindles are not compatible with Adobe Digital Editions and EBL books.
Yes, but because of copyright, there are restrictions as to how much of the book you can print or copy. Printing from EBL is restricted to approximately 20% of the total pages of the ebook, per user. Copying and pasting content is restricted to approximately 5% of the total pages of the ebook, per user. EBL will display a message if the limit is reached.
Additional E-book publishers/platforms
ACLS Humanities Ebook: sponsored by the American Council of Learned Societies, contains 2200 full-text titles from over 100 publishers.
Apabi Reference Books - Chinese language reference sources
Blackwell Reference Online - variety of reference titles primarily in humanities and social sciences
Cambridge University Press e-books - coming soon summer 2012
CRCnetBASE - CRC Press reference & regular books in the fields of engineering, environmental science, forensics, food science, information technology, pharmaceuticals, mathematics, and statistics.
e-Duke Books Scholarly Collection: Access to over 1200 books from Duke University Press, hosted on the Ebrary Platform.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - A collection of over 20 reference books on various subjects.
Knovel - Over 2500 science and engineering encyclopedias, handbooks, and texts. Advanced features include numerical range searching and interactive graphs and tables.
Oxford Reference Online Premium: includes almost 300 subject and language dictionaries, covering subjects from anatomy to the performing arts.
Safari (O’Reilly) Tech Books Online: Access O'Reilly's well-written books covering computer and IT topics. Logout when done (UC's allowed 30 simultaneous users).
Springer Electronic Books includes over 28,000 books from every scientific discipline plus economics and some social sciences, published in English and German from 2005 to 2012 plus selected older series back to volume 1.
University of California Press eScholarship Editions: includes almost 2000 books published by the University of California Press on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction.
Wiley Interscience - reference titles and other books in the sciences. California Digital Library has licensed most of the Wiley Interscience books for 2011 & 2012, and UCSD Libraries purchased selected individual volumes from prior years, including major reference works. Suggest a purchase if a desired title doesn't display the unlocked icon.
Ebooks on EBSCOHost
EBOOKS on EBSCOHost
UCSD Libraries owns approximately 650 titles from Ebooks on EBSCO Host, with more being added.
SIMULTANEOUS USERS: Ebooks on EBSCOHost normally only allows one user at a time (a few titles do allow two). Because of this, we limit checkouts to a 24 hour period for books. Note: short-term reserves checkouts are no longer available.
Ebooks on EBSCOHost normally allows printing of the bibliographic citation ONLY from the viewer.
Not all of these books are downloadable. You may download the book to a personal device or a 24 hour loan period. After 24 hours, the item will disappear from the remote device. While that title is in use no one else can access it (unless the Libraries own multiple copies).
Adobe® Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher is required for offline viewing. This free software can be downloaded from this link. These downloadable ebooks are compatible with ebook readers such as the Barnes & Noble NOOK, Sony Reader Daily Edition, Sony Digital Readers (PRS-300, 505, 600 and 700BC).
NOTE: Users must create a new and unique account for use during the Preview only. Information stored (including username, password and eBook information) will be deleted after the Preview ends.
To download an eBook:
Click the Download (Offline) link for the eBook you would like to download.
Select a Checkout period from the drop-down menu and click the Checkout & Download button. UCSD only allows checkouts for a 24 hour period, however you may renew the title.
The eBook is added to the Checkout area of the folder, accessible from the upper-right corner of the EBSCOhost interface. If you are not logged into your My EBSCOhost folder, you are prompted to do so.
Select to Open or Save the file from the resulting dialog box.
If you Open the file, your eBook is opened with Adobe® Digital Editions.
If you Save the file, the eBook is saved to your computer and can be opened with Adobe® Digital Editions at a later time.
When a downloaded eBook is opened, it is displayed in Adobe® Digital Editions.
USER HELP The Ebooks on EbscoHost User Guide has extensive information to enable you to use this collection more effectively. This tutorial walks you through the steps to download to your portable device.