This is the "Home" page of the "Architecture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Architecture   Tags: architecture, arts  

Last Updated: Jun 20, 2012 URL: http://ucsd.libguides.com/content.php?pid=177540 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Article Databases

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
1741-present. Lists journal articles in architecture, and related fields such as archaeology, urban planning, historic preservation, interior design.

Design and Applied Arts Index
1973-present. Source of abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals.

Art Full Text
1984-present. Citations to journal articles on art, architecture, photography, and related disciplines.

Art Index Retrospective
1929-1984. Cites articles and reproductions of art works from periodicals throughout the world.

Bibliography of the History of Art

1975 - 2007. Indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals covering European and American art from late antiquity to 2009.

International Bibliography of Art
2008 - present. The core bibliography for recent publications in the history of Western Art from antiquity to the present and Global Art since 1945.

Reference tools

Oxford Art Online Gateway to Oxford Art Online and other Oxford art reference resources. 

 Great Buildings Collection    1000 classics of world architecture.

Pacific Coast Architecture Database (PCAD)   information on the buildings and designers of California, Oregon and Washington.


Image resources

ARTstor over 1 million high quality art and architecture images, including digitized images from the former UCSD Slide Collection.

Cities and Buildings Database a collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world.

American Memory  Still and moving images, prints, maps, and other documents that chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America from the collections of the Library of Congress.

Bildindex der Kunst und Architektur (Bildarchiv Foto Marburg)  Approximately 2 million images from 13 European countries, through the auspices of the Deutsches Dokumentationszentrum für Kunstgeschichte.

Built in America  Achives of the Historic American Buildings Survey, American Memory Project (Library of Congress).

Great Buildings Collection  
1,000 buildings and hundreds of leading architects represented with photographs and architectural drawings, maps and timelines, 3D building models.

VADS: the Online Resource for Visual Arts   Over 100,000 images, plus links to advisory services and additional image sources. Content strengths include design, crafts, textiles, photography.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Leslie Abrams
Contact Info
Arts Library
UCSD
Send Email

Architecture at UCSD

Geisel Library, 1970

San Diego Architecture

San Diego Fair Botanical Building, 1916 

 

San Diego History Center Includes historical materials, including original maps, manuscripts, architectural drawings, public records, oral histories and biographical files.

Save Our Heritage Since 1969, Save Our Heritage Organisation (SOHO), a nonprofit organization, has led the community as a powerful catalyst for preservation by raising awareness and appreciation of San Diego's region's architectural and cultural heritage. 

Modern San Diego Focuses on progressive architecture throughout the county.

San Diego Architectural Foundation  A non-profit organization educating the community about the value of design excellence through scholarships, tours, and lectures.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip