Using ebraryUsing EBLUsing EBSCOTroubleshooting
Health & Life SciencesPhysical Sciences & EngineeringSocial Sciences & HumantiesVisual & Performing Arts
This is the "Physical Sciences & Engineering" page of the "Ebooks at UCSD" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ebooks at UCSD   Tags: digital collections, e-books, ebl, ebooks, ebrary, electronic books  

Locating and using ebooks at UCSD
Last Updated: Apr 7, 2014 URL: http://ucsd.libguides.com/ebooks Print Guide RSS Updates

Physical Sciences & Engineering Print Page
  Search: 
 

Major Science & Engineering Collections

Largest collections in terms of number of titles or subjects covered.

  • Springerlink  
      
    Springer's collection of science and engineering ebooks, including series like Lecture Notes in Computer Science. Titles from 2005-present can be bought at a discounted price of $24.95 - look for MyCopy. [2005 to present, with access to series titles back to volume 1]
  • Knovel  
      
    Multi-publisher collection of books, encyclopedias and databases for engineering (including management), chemistry, and safety. Advanced features include numerical range searching and interactive graphs and tables. Excellent resource for chemical/physical property & engineering data. [1971 to present]
  • CRCnetBASE  
      
    CRC Press' ebook collections for engineering (civil, electrical, mechanical), mathematics, statistics, environmental science, forensics, food science, information technology, and telecommunications. (CHEMnetBASE can be found here.) Not all collections licensed by UCSD. [1992 to present]
  • Safari Tech Books Online (O'Reilly)
    1,700+ O'Reilly IT/computing books. Simultaneous access is limited to 30 UC users, so please click “Sign Out” when finished. Our Safari license only includes the O’Reilly titles. If you need access to titles from Cisco, IBM and the other publishers, Safari offers several personal subscription options. [1997 to present]
  • Wiley Online Library
    The Wiley (including Wiley-VCH) ebooks. Heavy coverage of chemistry and the physical sciences, biosciences, and engineering. Includes the IEEE ebooks for 2011-present (earlier titles are on IEEE Xplore). [2011 to present, plus selected pre-2011 titles]
  • Cambridge University Press
    A growing collection of Cambridge University Press science and engineering ebooks. Some books may be limited to one or three users at a time. [Selected coverage, with emphasis on more recent years]
  • Science Direct
    Elsevier, Academic Press, Butterworth-Heinemann, Morgan Kaufman, Woodhead, and Newnes ebooks in science and engineering. [2014 to present, with heavy selected coverage of earlier years]
  • National Academies Press
    Book-length reports from the National Academies, including a number of symposium and workshop reports. Emphasis on science and engineering, including science policy and science education. [1982 to present]

More Physical Sciences Ebooks

  • American Chemical Society Symposium Series
    Peer-reviewed books developed from the technical symposia of the ACS national and regional meetings. Along with chemistry, covers nanoscience, chemical education, polymers, renewable materials, medicinal chemistry, food and agricultural chemistry, and environmental science. Includes the earlier Advances in Chemistry series. [1950 to present]
  • American Geophysical Union Digital Library
    Earth and space science ebooks from the AGU, including the Geophysical Monograph series, the Antarctic Research Series, and the Field Trip Guidebooks. [1964 to present]
  • Royal Society of Chemistry E-Books
    The RSC e-book collection, covering chemistry, chemical engineering and industrial chemistry, materials/polymers; nanoscience; biomolecular and biomedicine, environmental and food sciences; pharmacology, toxicology, and drug discovery. Includes the Specialist Periodical Reports and Tutorial Chemistry Texts. [1968 to present]
  • SIAM E-Books
    Applied math and computational science ebooks from the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics. [400+ titles, 1971 to present]
  • Oxford University Press - Math & Physics
    Math and physics ebooks from Oxford University Press. [2000 to present]

More Engineering & Computer Science Ebooks

  • Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science
    Short lecture-sized books that synthesize important research topics, with more analysis & depth than the typical research article. Emphasis on general engineering, electrical engineering, computer science, biomedical engineering, human-centered informatics, and human language technologies. [2005 to present]
  • Safari Tech Books Online (O'Reilly)
    1,700+ O'Reilly IT/computing books. Simultaneous access is limited to 30 UC users, so please click “Sign Out” when finished. Our Safari license only includes the O’Reilly titles. If you need access to titles from Cisco, IBM and the other publishers, Safari offers several personal subscription options. [1997 to present]
  • MIT Press Ebooks at IEEE Xplore
    MIT Press ebooks on engineering topics (heavily in computing), including some general interest titles and social aspects of computing and technology. [1970s to present, plus a few pre-1970s titles]
  • IEEE-Wiley on IEEE Xplore
    IEEE-Wiley ebooks for electrical engineering, communications and computer engineering, with some bioengineering and general engineering titles. 2011 & 2012 IEEE books the are in the Wiley Online Library. [1992-2010]
  • McGraw-Hill Engineering
    Over 200 McGraw-Hill engineering ebooks, including Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, and Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain. [1997-2010]
  • SPIE eBooks
    Optics and photonics ebooks from SPIE's Press Monographs, Field Guides, and Tutorial Texts [1991 to present]
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip