a guide to resources that help you explore international education opportunities
Last Updated: Nov 8, 2012
What sites do you have bookmarked? Which blogs do you read? Let us know and we'll get it added to this guide!
Guides & directories to help you find programs. Many of the sites list articles written by former participants.
- Transitions Abroad program directory
A guide to semester and yearlong academic programs.
- Financial aid for study and training abroad
A list of scholarships, fellowships, loans, grants, awards, and internships for study and training abroad; an annotated bibliography of financial aid directories; and a set of five indexes: title, organization, geographic, subject, and deadline.
- IIE Passport
IIEPassport is an online comprehensive search engine of study abroad programs
Learn about the places you want to visit.
- Background Notes
These publications include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty. The Background Notes are updated/revised by the Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of Public Affairs as they are received from the State Department's regional bureaus.
- Country Studies from the Library of Congress
Each online book contains historical and cultural background information on the country it covers. Formerly known as the Area Handbooks from the Department of the Army.
- Portals to the World
Library of Congress links to electronic resources from around the world.
- Business Monitor Online
[UCSD Only] Country risk, industry and company intelligence covering global markets." Provides country political, economic, and business forecasts, industry reports, risk ratings, regional newsletters, company profiles, news. Updated daily.
Provides an overview of each county where the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) does work.
- Human Development Reports Country Tables
Annual publication of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)
Check out the events happening during UCSD IEW 2012!