Ebooks: Physical Sciences & Engineering

Database of McGraw-Hill engineering handbooks, textbooks, and videos, plus interactive graphs, downloadable tables, and a data visualization tool for properties of materials. Covers all engineering disciplines including computer science and engineering, but heaviest in chemical, electrical, materials, mechanical, and structural engineering. Includes standard reference works like Perry’s Chemical Engineers’ Handbook, Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, and the Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, as well as the Civil Engineering PE Exam Guide and Practice Exams, and about 30 Schaum's Outlines.

A growing collection of Cambridge science, social science, and humanities ebooks. Most from the 2000s to date, including nearly all of the titles released starting in 2016. (Some titles listed can only be accessed by one user at a time.) Textbooks not included.

CRC Press' ebook collections for science and engineering (now available on the Taylor & Francis website). Primarily in engineering (civil, electrical, mechanical), mathematics, statistics, environmental science, and biomedicine. The other collections --including business/management, chemistry, physics, chemical engineering, materials science, and nanotechnology--were licensed starting in 2017. [1992 to present]

Elsevier, Academic Press, Butterworth-Heinemann, Morgan Kaufman, Woodhead, and Newnes ebooks in science and engineering. If you search the entire site, look for the books with the green boxes. [2013 to present, with heavy selected coverage of earlier years]

Multi-publisher collection of books, encyclopedias and databases for engineering (including management), chemistry, and safety. Advanced features include numerical range searching and interactive graphs and tables. Excellent resource for chemical/physical property & engineering data. [1971 to present]

48,000+ ebooks, videos, case studies, and interactive tutorials from multiple publishers, including O'Reilly. Covers business, desktop/web applications, data science/management, digital media, engineering, information technology/software development & architecture, math & science, and personal/professional development.

• To connect, select UCSD from the institutions, then login with your AD username/password. VPN doesn't work for this collection.

Oxford University Press ebooks, including their science and engineering titles [2010 to present].

Springer's collection of science and engineering ebooks, including series like Lecture Notes in Computer Science. Titles from 2005-present can be bought at a discounted price of $40 - look for MyCopy. [2005 to present, with access some individual titles and many of the series back to volume 1, along with the Mathematics & statistics archive]

The Wiley (including Wiley-VCH) ebooks. Heavy coverage of chemistry and the physical sciences, biosciences, and engineering. Includes the IEEE ebooks for 2011-present (earlier titles are on IEEE Xplore). [2011 to present, plus selected pre-2011 titles]

Book-length reports from the National Academies, including a number of symposium and workshop reports. Emphasis on science and engineering, including science policy and science education. [1982 to present]

Digital "primers" providing overviews on topics of interest to chemists and engineers. Include animations, pop-up content like glossaries, so there's no PDF option. The books can be read via e-reader and downloaded for offline reading. Each book can be read in 3-7 hours. [2020 to present]

Peer-reviewed books developed from the technical symposia of the ACS national and regional meetings, covering topics in chemistry and related subjects, including nanotechnology and materials science. [1950 to present]

Earth and space science ebooks from the AGU, including the Geophysical Monograph series, the Antarctic Research Series, and the Field Trip Guidebooks. [1964 to present]

AIP books covering a range of subjects from biophysics, condensed matter, energy, mathematical physics to materials science, nanotechnology, and optics & photonics. [2020 to 2022]

IOP ebook collections. Two series: IOP Expanding Physics (in-depth texts on key areas in physics) and IOP Concise Physics (shorter texts focused on rapidly advancing areas). Personal print copies may be bought for £25.00 (approx $30). [2013 to present]

RSC ebooks collection of chemistry and related disciplines, including nanotechnology, materials science, environmental science, and medicine [1968 to present].

Applied math and computational science ebooks SIAM. [1971 to present]

Ebooks from the Association for Computing Machinery. [2014-present]

IEEE-Wiley ebooks for electrical engineering, communications and computer engineering, with some bioengineering and general engineering titles. Books published after 2010 are on the Wiley Online Library. [1992-2010]

Ebook collection focusing on computing and electrical engineering topics, including transport, telecomm, radar/sonar, robotics, management, history of technology, and circuits. [2011 to present]

See Access Engineering for newer McGraw-Hill e-books in engineering.
Over 200 McGraw-Hill older engineering ebooks, including Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, and Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain. [1997-2010]

3,000+ MIT Press books on MIT Press Direct. Newer titles (2019- ) are on this platform along with the e-book archive.

MIT Press ebooks on engineering topics (heavily in computing), including some general interest titles and social aspects of computing and technology. [1970s to 2018, plus a few pre-1970s titles]

Ebooks from SAE International (formerly Society of Automotive Engineers). [2022 to present].
Includes titles such as:
SAE International's Dictionary for Automotive Engineers, Finite Element Analysis for Design Engineers, The Arrival of the Electric Car,

Optics and photonics ebooks from SPIE's Press Monographs, Field Guides, and Tutorial Texts [1991 to present]

Short lecture-sized books that synthesize important research topics, with more analysis & depth than the typical research article. Emphasis on general engineering, electrical engineering, computer science, biomedical engineering, human-centered informatics, and human language technologies. [2005 to present]