- AASHE STARS (Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education. The Sustainability Tracking, Assessment & Rating System)
Voluntary self-reporting framework for colleges and universities to gauge progress toward sustainability and be recognized for sustainability leadership. Covers colleges and universities in the United States and Canada.
- Academic Ranking of World Universities (ARWU)
Also known as "Shanghai Ranking." Published by the Center for World-Class Universities and the Institute of Higher Education of Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China. Includes Top 500 world universities, Top universities by country, Top 100 world universities by field, and Top 100 universities by subject.
- Alumni Factor
Rankings based on alumni feedback from 177 colleges in U.S. Outcomes measured on college experience, overall assessment, financial success, overall happiness, alumni giving and graduation rate. Site includes list of Top 177 schools. Guidebook available for sale in addition to subscriber access.
- America's Top Colleges
Rankings are compiled for Forbes by the Center for College Affordability and Productivity (CCAP.) Over 600 undergraduate institutions are included. Rankings are based on five general categories: post graduate success, student satisfaction, debt, four-year graduation rate and competitive awards.
- Award Summary: Top 50 Institutions
From the National Science Foundation (NSF). Lists institutions in the United States which received the largest portion of NSF Funding. Includes number of awards and amount of funding per award for each institution.
- Best Colleges
From U.S. News & World Report. Print edition owned by the library; online edition is abbreviated. Includes 1,600 schools in the United States. Lists include national university rankings, liberal arts college rankings, regional rankings, and others.
From Princeton Review. Print edition owned by the library and available online. Top 20 ranking lists in eight categories. Each category is divided into lists compiled from their survey questions or assessments. Lists include: Best Classroom Experience, Most Politically Active Students, LGBT-Friendly, Party Schools and more.
- Best Graduate Schools
From U.S. News & World Report. Print edition owned by the library; online edition is abbreviated. Rankings of professional-school programs in business, education, engineering, law and medicine. Also includes rankings of programs in the sciences, social sciences, humanities, and other areas.
- CHE (Center for Higher Education) University Ranking
From Zeit Online. Options include subjects, university towns, and ability to create your individual ranking. Covers higher education institutions (HEIs) in German-speaking countries.
- CWTS Leiden Ranking
From the Centre for Science and Technology Studies (CWTS), Leiden University, The Netherlands. Measures the scientific performance of 500 major universities worldwide.
- Canada's Top 50 Research Universities
From RE$EARCH Infosource Inc. Includes Canada's Top 50 Research Universities and Research Universities of the Year.
- Center for World University Rankings (CWUR)
Published by Dr. Nadim Mahassen, King Abdulaziz University in Jeddah, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Rankings based on seven indicators: "Quality of academics as measured by the number who have won major international awards, prizes and medals; publication of research papers; influence as measured by the number of papers in “highly influential journals”; citations by the number of highly cited research papers; patents; alumni employment, according to the number currently holding CEO positions in the top 2,000 public companies; and quality of education “as measured by the number of a university's alumni who have won major international awards, prizes, and medals relative to the university's size."
- College Rankings
From Newsweek and The Daily Beast. Includes top 25 least and most affordable, top party, most and least rigorous, beautiful, liberal, conservative, happiest, and most stressful colleges in the United States. Also lists top 25 fraternities and sororities.
- College Rankings
From Unigo.com. Rankings based on feedback from current college students. Includes Top 10 schools in the United States of happiest students, famous faculty, hipster colleges and much more.
- College Rankings
From the Washington Monthly. Schools in the United States ranked on their contribution to the public good in three broad categories: Social Mobility (recruiting and graduating low-income students), Research (producing cutting-edge scholarship and PhDs), and Service (encouraging students to give something back to their country)
- College Sustainability Report Card
From the Sustainable Endowments Institute. The College Sustainability Report Card is also known as the "Green Report Card." Provides sustainability profiles for hundreds of colleges in all 50 U.S. states and Canada. Report Cards from 2007-2011; suspended in 2012.
- Complete university guide
The Complete University Guide has been publishing league tables online since 2007, the league tables are compiled by Mayfield University Consultants. Ranks United Kingdom (UK) universities by assessing their performance in nine quality factors: entry standards, student satisfaction, research assessment, graduate prospects and more.
- Cool Schools
From Sierra Magazine. Annual ranking of America's greenest colleges. Although energy supply carried the most significance, nine other categories were considered in measuring a school's commitment to sustainability: efficiency, food, academics, purchasing, transportation, waste management, administration, financial investments, and a catchall section titled "other initiatives." Ranking is open to all four-year undergraduate colleges and universities in the United States.
- Data-based assessment of research-doctorate programs in the United States
From National Research Council (NRC). Includes free download option of print version published in 2011 and Data Table in Excel.
- Data-based assessment of research-doctorate programs in the United States
From National Research Council (NRC). Print version owned by the library; published in 2011. Presents findings from data collected for the 2005-2006 academic year from more than 5,000 doctoral programs at 212 universities. This report also includes illustrations of how the data can be used to produce rankings of doctoral programs based on measures important to faculty, students, administrators, funders, and other stakeholders.
- Estudio Comparativo de las Universidades Mexicanas (ECUM)
From Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico. This is not a rankings site, but an interactive database which compares Mexico's public universities and the top private institutions with each other.
- Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA)
From the Australian Research Council (ARC.) ERA evaluates the quality of the research undertaken in Australian universities against national and international benchmarks.
- Global and National Rankings
From University of California, San Diego (UCSD), University Communications and Public Affairs. UCSD's "Global and National and Rankings" are included in the "UC San Diego Campus Profile."
- Graduate School Rankings
From PhDs.org. Rank graduate programs at 1,600 U.S. universities.
- Guardian University Guide
All United Kingdom (UK) universities and every subject taught at UK universities ranked by The Guardian.
- Higher Education Commission, Pakistan
Pakistan's Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) are ranked specifically by category/area of Specialization.
- Higher Education Evaluation and Accreditation Council of Taiwan (HEEACT)
Performance ranking of scientific papers for world universities. Includes Top 500 Universities, Top universities by continents or countries, Field and Subject.
- Kiplinger's Best Values in Public Colleges
From Kiplinger.com. Able to sort by many variables, i.e., in-state total costs, student/faculty ratio, room & board cost, etc. Able to select All States or multiple states or schools. View table for comparisons or view each college separately.
- Measuring academic research in Canada: field-normalized academic rankings 2012
Published by Higher Education Strategy Associates; Toronto, Canada.
- Las Mejores Universidades de Chile - Ranking 2012
From AmericaEconomia magazine.
- Las Mejores Universidades del Peru - Ranking 2012
From AmericaEconomia magazine.
- Malaysian Qualifications Agency (MQA)
MQA Rating System for Higher Education Institutions in Malaysia for 2011 (SETARA '11) is the third rating exercise undertaken at the institutional level for universities and university colleges in Malaysia after the SETARA '09 (using 2009 data) and SETARA 2007 (using 2006 data). Similar to the SETARA '09, the SETARA '11 measures the performance of teaching and learning at level six of the Malaysian Qualifications Framework (undergraduate level).
- Most Expensive Colleges
From CampusGrotto.com. Prices are for one year of education at traditional 4-year undergraduate colleges in the United States.
From the Australian Government. Interactive, searchable website displays course information, fees, student demographics, student satisfaction and graduate destination survey results, student services, campus facilities, research student numbers and scholarships for Australia's higher education providers.
- OEDb's Top Online Colleges
From Open Education Database (OEDb.) Covers the United States. For each college data is compiled on eight different metrics — the number of full-time faculty per part-time faculty member, institutional financial aid rate, acceptance rate, retention rate, graduation rate, years accredited, default rates, and job placement rates.
- Peace Corps Top Colleges
Top 25 colleges and universities in the United States that produced the most Peace Corps volunteers. Rankings include large, medium and small colleges and universities. Also included are Top 5 graduate schools and historical data.
- People & Planet Green League Tables
People & Planet’s Green League is the only comprehensive and independent league table of United Kingdom (UK) universities ranked by environmental and ethical performance. Compiled annually since 2007 by the UK’s largest student campaigning network, People & Planet.
- Perspektywy University Ranking
National ranking of Poland's universities produced by Perspektywy Education Foundation. In the 2013 ranking overall as many as 33 criteria were used, grouped into six categories: prestige - with the weight of 25%, academic strength (potential) – (15%), academic effectiveness (30%), studying environment (10%), internationalization (15%), and innovation (5%).
- QS World University Rankings
From Quacquarelli Symonds Limited. Includes World University Rankings, World University Rankings by Subject, University Rankings: Asia and University Rankings: Latin America. Another rating system offered by Quacquarelli Symonds is QS Stars. It is an evaluation tool that evaluates universities using a broad set of criteria; universities are then awarded with a badge that displays their number of stars based on their audit. In 2012 added ranking, QS Top 50 under 50.
- Ranking Tables of National Institutes of Health (NIH) Funding to US Medical Schools
Compiled by Dr. Roskoski, Blue Ridge Institute for Medical Research. Data is synthesized from raw NIH data tables into an annual set of reports. Tables list university departments as well as individual researchers by the amounts of their annual NIH grant support.
- Ranking Web of Universities
Ranking Web of World Universities also known as "Webometrics Ranking of World Universities." From Cybermetrics Lab, Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (CSIC) in Spain. Includes more than 20,000 higher education institutions worldwide ranked by region and individual countries.
From Maclean's magazine. Ranking of Canadian universities. Includes three rankings: Medical Doctoral, Comprehensive and Primarily Undergraduate universities.
- SIR - SCImago Institutions Rankings
From SCImago Research Group with data from Elsevier's database Scopus. Includes Ibero-American SIR ranking (Latin America, Puerto Rico, Spain and Portugal) and Global SIR ranking.
- THE (Times Higher Education) World University Rankings
From Times Higher Education developed with Thomson-Reuters. Includes Top 400 world universities, Top universities by region, Top universities by subject, Asia University Rankings, Top 100 world universities under 50 years old and Top universities by reputation.
- Top American Research Universities
From The Center for Measuring University Performance. Provides data on over 600 institutions. The Center classifies universities into groups based on nine indicators.
- Top 100 Colleges for Hispanics
From The Hispanic Outlook in Higher Education Magazine. Schools on the list represent the higher education institutions with the most Hispanics enrolled and the places where the most Hispanics receive undergraduate and graduate degrees in the United States.
- Top 200 Colleges and Universities in the World
From 4 International Colleges & Universities. Includes over 10,000 colleges and universities, ranked by web popularity, in 200 countries. It is not an academic ranking. Regions covered are: Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America, North America, and Oceania.
- Top-200 Ukraina project
University rankings in Ukraine.
New university ranking system launched by the European Union (EU.) Lead partners are the Centre for Higher Education in Germany and the Centre for Higher Education Policy Studies in The Netherlands. U-Multirank will rate universities in 5 areas: teaching and learning, research, knowledge transfer, international orientation and regional engagement. First ranking will be published in early 2014.
- University Autonomy in Europe
The European University Association's (EUA) interactive online tool allows users to view and compare comprehensive data on university autonomy in Europe. The new tool is based on data collected by EUA for its study "University Autonomy in Europe II: The Scorecard" (November 2011.)
- University Ranking by Academic Performance (URAP)
From URAP Research Laboratory, Middle East Technical University in Turkey. Ranking system is based on 6 academic performance indicators. Both quality and quantity of publications and international research collaboration performance are used as indicators.
- University Rankings of the Islamic Countries
From the Islamic World Science Citation Center (ISC.) Ranking of universities and research centers of Iran.
- World's Best Universities
From U.S. News & World Report. Based on the QS World University Rankings. Includes Top 400 World's Best Universities, Top Universities in Asia, Top Universities in Latin America, and Subject Rankings.