Guide to information resources by and about the federal government.
Last Updated: Apr 14, 2014
Please note that resources tagged with a red lock symbol are available remotely only to UC San Diego affiliates.
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Lists and describes federal publications (1976- ) and provides direct links to those that are available online. Search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keyword. (See next section for indexes to pre-1976 documents.)
Presents online versions of major U.S. government publications, such as: the Congressional Record, congressional publications of all kinds, the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Supreme Court decisions, executive branch documents and more.
You know you're going to use it, so use it efficiently: add site:.gov to your keywords to limit searching to governmental websites.
- Govspeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations
Lists acronyms and abbreviations commonly used by the United States federal government. Each is defined and links to the home page (or best alternative) of the identified entity.
- Guide to U.S. Government Publications (Andriot)
Traces depository publications through agency changes and assigned SuDoc numbers. Entries include title, publication history, ISSN, frequency of distribution, short descriptions, and notes about changes. Provides agency, title, and keyword in title indexes. The "Agency Class Chronology" traces the history of all agencies current or defunct. (Print only.)
Offers access to a vast number of publications from all three branches of the federal government. Search across collections from this main page, or click on a collection link to browse titles.
A federated search engine that searches multiple federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while linking to selected resources available online.
- ProQuest Congressional
Indexes Congressional materials from 1789-present. Provides access to U.S. legislative information, including bills and pending legislation, legislative history, hearings, testimony, reports, documents, legislative calendars, committee rules of procedure, Congressional Record, CRS Reports, public laws, etc.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. This database replaces the previously-free Census Bureau publication (which are available online
). It uses many of the same, along with additional, data sources as the earlier editions.
- UCSD Library catalog
Use our catalog to find hard copy documents in our collection, as well as links to online documents. The advanced keyword search
allows limiting to government publications.
- United States Government Manual
This official handbook of the federal government describes programs and activities of the legislative, judicial and executive branches. The Manual also includes information about quasi-official agencies, international organizations with U.S. membership, and federal boards, commissions, and committees.
- U.S. Government Databases
Subject and alphabetical lists of databases for federal government information - much of which is not findable through a general web search.
Official portal to government information and services provided by the federal government.
Over 50 million records of material cataloged by libraries. Often includes links to online full-text government publications.
Links go the UCSD Library catalog, which provides call number and location information for these print resources.
The vast majority of government publications are now published directly to the web, ensuring widespread availability. However, access to most older government documents remains somewhat limited; these items are generally only available in libraries that are part of the depository program. Many libraries and other organizations, such as those noted below, are working to increase availability by creating digitized copies of these older documents.
- Digitization Projects Registry
Describes and links to independent digitization projects for government documents.
- Google Books
Includes government documents, as well as other items. To focus a search to government publications, try adding "Government Printing Office" or "G.P.O." in the publisher field.
This large-scale digital repository includes many government documents.
- Internet Archive
Collection of more than 20,000 digitized government documents.
- LLMC Digital
Collection of legal titles and government documents. Includes the Statutes at Large and US federal, US state, and foreign legislative, executive, and judicial materials.
- TRAIL: Technical Report Archive and Image Library
Collection of federal technical reports published pre-1975.
- University of North Texas (UNT) Libraries
Access to a large number of digitized documents, arranged in several distinct collections.